Blog Tour – The Flame Within by Liz Harris

From award-winning author of The Dark Horizon, Liz Harris, comes the second in a sweeping saga set between the wars, which tells the story of the Linfords, a family simmering with secrets, lies and betrayal.

London, 1923

Alice Linford stands on the pavement and stares up at the large Victorian house set back from the road—the house that is to be her new home.

But it isn’t her house. It belongs to someone else—to a Mrs Violet Osborne. A woman who was no more than a name at the end of an advertisement for a companion that had caught her eye three weeks earlier.

More precisely, it wasn’t Mrs Osborne’s name that had caught her eye—it was seeing that Mrs Osborne lived in Belsize Park, a short distance only from Kentish Town. Kentish Town, the place where Alice had lived when she’d been Mrs Thomas Linford.

Thomas Linford—the man she still loves, but through her own stupidity, has lost. The man for whom she’s left the small Lancashire town in which she was born to come down to London again. The man she’s determined to fight for.The Flame Within is perfect for readers of The Thorn Birds and the Cazalet Chronicles, and the novels of Fiona Valpy and Santa Montefiore.

Purchase Links UK USA

Review

I received a digital ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I thought I’d read all of Liz Harris’ back catalogue so was surprised to discover that this is the second book in a series.  That said, not having read the previous book didn’t detract from my enjoyment.

I really liked Alice and could understand the desire to leave her Lancashire mill town and discover the excitement of living in London.  Her relationship with best friend May was a lovely aspect of the book albeit brief.

Thomas Linford is a complex character.  A former thrill seeker now seemingly trapped inside a crippled body with no hope for release.  There was no questioning his love for Alice but it’s hard to love when you can’t love yourself and that was an obstacle that he couldn’t overcome.

For the avoidance of spoilers, I will gloss over the doomed friendship between Alice and Charles Linford but just add that revenge is fabled to be best when served cold!

I was relieved to find a happy ending for Alice, even though it didn’t match what I had hoped for her but, who knows, maybe she will appear in future instalments of this saga?

I can happily recommend this book and would certainly suggest discovering the earlier instalment as I will be doing just that.

Author Bio:

Liz’s first six novels were published by Choc Lit. The Road Back was the US Coffee Time and Romance Book of the Year, A Bargain Struck was RoNA-shortlisted for Best Historical Novel, and they and The Lost Girl, Evie Undercover, The Art of Deception and A Western Heart were shortlisted by the Festival of Romantic Fiction in their respective categories. Liz’s latest historical novel, The Dark Horizon, Book 1 of The Linford Series, which is set between the wars, was released in May 2020. She has also had short stories published in several anthologies and in magazines.

Liz is an active member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, and also of the Historical Novel Society. She regularly gives talks and workshops at conferences, and is an approved speaker for organisations such as the WI and U3A. Her hobbies are theatre, reading, travel, cryptic crosswords You can visit her website at www.lizharrisauthor.com

Social Media Links

Twitter Website Facebook Instagram

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour – The Flame Within by Liz Harris

  1. Many thanks for your lovely review of my novel, Babs. One of the pleasures of writing the novel was that it took me back to places I knew well. I spent my early years in Belsize Park, near Violet’s house; as a student, I spent a summer working in Kentish Town Library, near Thomas’s house, and a very close friend lives in Waterfoot, and I’ve visited her over the years. I hope you enjoy The Dark Horizon when you come to read it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: