Review – Welcome to Port Berry by KT Dady @kt_dady @JoffeBooks #PublicationDay #NewSeries #BookReview #PublicationDay #WelcomeToPortBerry

Since my first invitation to read and review the initial book in this author’s Pepper Bay series, I have been hooked.  Her writing style is different to so many other authors, and I just love it. When KT Dady announced that she had signed with a publisher, I was thrilled for her, and I knew that she would be happy with Joffe books. I’m now looking forward to returning to Port Berry and following the stories of the residents there.  If you’d like to read a couple of my previous reviews, you can follow these links: Starlight Cottage (the first in the series) and Silver Wish Farm.

I’m grateful to Joffe Books for providing my digital review copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. You can read my thoughts below.

Synopsis

Welcome to Port Berry, where love is just around the corner.

Sophie Moore has sworn off men. Ever since her ex-boyfriend ran off with her, now ex-friend. So the appearance of handsome newcomer Matt Rose to Port Berry doesn’t bother her. Sophie knows her heart is safe.

Even if it does flutter annoyingly every time he smiles at her.

Matt Rose has arrived in Port Berry with no money or place to stay. He’s running from a troubled past and looking for a fresh start.

Matt gets a job with the local fisherman, Jed. But it’s Sophie, hearing Matt will be sleeping on the fishing boat, who offers him a place to stay at her home Cockle Cottage.

Now Sophie can’t escape bumping into Matt everywhere she turns. Neither can she avoid noticing the way his eyes crinkle when he smiles and how she looks forward to seeing him every day.

But she can’t risk another heartbreak.

Matt knows his feelings for Sophie are far more than just gratitude for her kindness. But can he convince Sophie he’s not the only one who needs a fresh start?

Review

Port Berry is a wonderful setting for this gorgeous new series.  Cornwall plays host to this lovely village that’s filled with some incredible people who each want to help those in need.  I’ve read plenty of books with a pay-it-forward café, but I certainly don’t remember a whole community pulling together to help rehabilitate the homeless. Of course, their intentions are aimed at individuals and not at solving an entire problem for all, but certainly one tired soul at a time.

With support from her grandfather, Jed, Sophie Moore is determined to offer a taste of normality where she can, and Matt Rose is their first candidate. With the help of their whole network, Matt soon receives a host of treatments, including a haircut and counselling, and he’s humbled to have discovered a village that cares.

This is a story that brought me real joy.  I have donated through a local café and support a charity that helps homeless teens, but that never felt like enough.  The idea that a complete network of help and support could be created was heartwarming, even though I know it was essentially fictional.  I’m aware that there are more resources available, but there sadly isn’t enough.

Sophie is a beautiful person, and her kindness is something that the world needs more of. Her grandfather is a real treasure and feels like the kind of man we would all benefit from knowing. Sophie’s history with her ex is all too common, and I am relieved that he is in her past.

Matt had fallen on hard times and was homeless while struggling with alcohol addiction. His determination to become sober was admirable. He had walked from London to Port Berry after receiving a tip that he could find help in the Cornish town. Despite his challenging circumstances, Matt was a good person who just needed a break. It was interesting to read about his thoughts and experiences as he discovered a chance to break the cycle of despair.

The characters are warm, and the story is totally relatable, as I believe we have all seen rough sleepers and wished we could help, or is that just me?

I have high hopes for this series and am already looking forward to the next instalment.

Author Bio

Author, reader, mum, chocolate lover, and a huge fan of a HEA. I was born and raised in the East End of London, and I’ve been happily writing stories since I was a little girl. When I’m not writing, I’m baking cakes or pottering around in my little garden in Essex, trying not to kill the flowers. I’m the author of contemporary romance, middle-grade, and the thought-provoking thriller about mental illness, The Focus Program.

Social Media & Weblinks

Website

Twitter/X

Instagram

Facebook

Leave a comment